Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have sand in my piranha aquarium and i was thinkin about covering most of the bottom wiv hair grass. will this collect a lot of debris and will it be hard to clean???????

·
Registered
1,367 Posts
Hair grass would look good. And it catches some debris but its not to bad to clean just use a gravel vac.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i never use a gravel vac i have sand and it just sucks it all out when i gravel vac most of the debris sits on the top anyway i just stir the sand once in a while could i still have hair grass??

·
my sister is #1 best prostitute
10,514 Posts
i think this would be a better question for the aquatic plants section, the real issue might be how well would hair grass grow in sand substrait, im not a plant expert but did try clumps of it in one of my tank with sand and it didnt do that well..

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
Whats the proper name of hair grass?
Moss grass?
Everyone at my LFS are idiots is why I'm asking.

·
Registered
4,114 Posts
Personally I have never had much luck with hairgrass, I know Dippy has though.

You do need to clean it out though, I know probably once a week or so to get all the dirt and stuff out of it cause it collects a lot.

Not sure how well it would grow in your tank without knowing some more specs of your tank... lighting, CO2, ferts, etc.

·
Registered
1,159 Posts

·
DYNOMITE!
6,671 Posts
Whats the proper name of hair grass?
Eleocharis acicularis
Eleocharis parvulus (smaller version)
Moss grass?
I never heard of moss grass, but here are 'some' moss scientific names.. there are lots of different mosses
Frontinalis antipyretica
Taxiphyllum barbieri
Taxiphyllum alternans
Vesicularia ferriei
Vesicularia montagne

i have sand in my piranha aquarium and i was thinkin about covering most of the bottom wiv hair grass. will this collect a lot of debris and will it be hard to clean???????