Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
^word
4,324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
yo i was wondering where ya go to git a site started?

·
^word
4,324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
id like to hear from judazz,and see what he has to say seeing how he has a site and all

·
Registered
910 Posts
Tibs said:
id like to hear from judazz,and see what he has to say seeing how he has a site and all
[snapback]897177[/snapback]​
Lots of people have websites... Including myself.

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO KNOW... Geeze...

Pac

·
^word
4,324 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
what i was wanting to know is how you would start it, any help would be appreatiated, i juss put down judazz cuz i personally knew he had a website and i would like to make one like his and i didnt know how, therefore i asked

·
Registered
22,692 Posts
Well, I basically just started one day because I wanted to put what I learned at school in practice (I did a follow-up course webdesign after I got my degree). My piranha tank was the most obvious choice, as I was basically obsessed with it...
The first version sucked big time, and was technically very simple (just plain old html). But along the road, and in combination with my job (webmaster) which learned me TONS of useful things, I got acquainted with new techniques (like php), and gradually, over the last 2,5 years, the site became what it is now.

How to start? At first you should work out the structure (what pages, what kind of navigation, etc.) The next thing is to design a lay-out (either just start coding/designing and see where you'll end, or design an entire page in Photoshop or similar).

Of course the very first thing is to get the right tools: MS Paint and Notepad are enough, but you'll work most efficiently with a WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You get)- and/or html-editor (Frontpage, Dreamweaver, Homesite, Coffecup) and a professional image editing program (Photoshop, Fireworks, Paintshop).