Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
121 Posts
I am currently very limited in tank size-10 gallons but in three months i can upgrade significantly, due to larger housing. I am new to Piranhas and was wondering what was everyones opinion on what breed I whould get and what is availible in the Michigan Area. I also would liek to know if i should use live plants or plastic and what to feed a new baby.

O yeah and the relevance to this forum, whats the Ph and Water Chem supposed to be I have currently some chichlids. I have access to a lab so there isn't anything I can't put into the tank....

Thanks!

· Registered
10,778 Posts
hello! Welcome! Members here keep Piranhas in ph range from 7 all the way to 8 and seem to be ok. Water chem should be the normal, ammonia 0 nitrite 0 and low nitrate. How big baby Ps are we talking? like 1"? I would just house 3 for now, and upgrade ASAP. Just get an ACMINI for that tank, and a heater. Live plants are good to remove nitrates. Baby Ps can eat shrimp, flakes, and small bits of beefheart.

· Registered
639 Posts
First off, welcome to P-fury...

:welcome:

Secondly, this is my personal opinion, but by all means do as you please. If you're planning on moving and upgrading your tank in just a short time, if I were you, I'd simply wait to get your fish until after the move/upgrade.

That way you start off with a tank of your preference, and you can get a fish that can (hopefully) be housed in that tank for it's entire life. It'd be a shame for you to get a tank, have your fish in that tank for a year or so, and then have to upgrade because you weren't aware of how much space the particular fish you decided on would need.