Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Upgrading from a 55gal saltwater aquarium with coral to a 240gal that comes with a sump. I've never used a sump before and need to know what all goes down there. I have a protein skimmer I can put in there but really question how filtration works? Currently have a RenaXP2 on the 55. I want to keem as much stuff out of the tank as possible. how does a canister filter work or can it on an aquarium with a sump?

Thanks!

·
7,344 Posts
Upgrading from a 55gal saltwater aquarium with coral to a 240gal that comes with a sump. I've never used a sump before and need to know what all goes down there. I have a protein skimmer I can put in there but really question how filtration works? Currently have a RenaXP2 on the 55. I want to keem as much stuff out of the tank as possible. how does a canister filter work or can it on an aquarium with a sump?

Thanks!
Eliminate the canister... or keep your 55 gal for a quarantine and to seed the new system.

If you can give me pics of the sump, i can prob tell you whats going on... there are so many ways to configure a sump its really hard to tell without a visual.

What type of skimmer do you have?

What are your plans for the new tank? FOWLR, reef, predator?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Thanks!
Eliminate the canister... or keep your 55 gal for a quarantine and to seed the new system.

If you can give me pics of the sump, i can prob tell you whats going on... there are so many ways to configure a sump its really hard to tell without a visual.

What type of skimmer do you have?

What are your plans for the new tank? FOWLR, reef, predator?
[/quote]

It's going to be a reef aquarium after properly cycling. I have a coralife skimmer. I've read about 3 types of sumps, refugium, berlin-style, and standard wet/dry. I'm able to do whatever is best as the tank will start off empty.

·
7,344 Posts