Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to fish/aquariums and I want to get myself one Red Belly Piranha. I visit this site every day and get alot of valuable information from it, some people say that 30 gal. tank is good enough. I want some more opinions...

I'am aware that the RBP can reach about 12" in length, and I would like to purchase a tank that will be with it for life.

·
Registered
95 Posts
One of the cool things about red bellies is that they are social animals and you can keep them in groups. I only have three young 6 to 8 inch reds in a 75 gallon but it's the competition and interaction that's most entertaining. reds do grow very fast. although they say they rarely reach 12 inches in home aquarium

·
Registered
242 Posts
If you get just one red belly, you will be disappointed. Most likely (unless you are really lucky) you'll end up with a scared, skittish piranha that tries to hide all the time. If you get 3, you'll be much happier because they will be more active and fun to watch. A 55 is ok for 3 red bellies, a 75 is better.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So in other words, getting just one RBP is just a bad idea.
I've seen them alone in pet stores and tend to see them as "boring" since they just sit there in a corner.

I figure its either one RBP or some African Cichlids...

·
Registered
11,044 Posts
TomBo said:
So in other words, getting just one RBP is just a bad idea.
I've seen them alone in pet stores and tend to see them as "boring" since they just sit there in a corner.

I figure its either one RBP or some African Cichlids...
[snapback]822074[/snapback]​
How bout a spilo?

·
Danse Macabre!
10,561 Posts