Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I'm very new to the fish keeping hobby and have a question about tank shapes..

I'm looking into getting some Red Belly piranhas and the room I want to keep them in has some what limited space. I want to use a corner tank (not sure on size yet) that would probably be in a diamond sort of shape (right angle at the back and 3 faces on the front… see link below)

http://static.flickr.com/34/72479973_6cdbb4d3b9.jpg

I just wanted to know if keeping the fish in this kind of aquarium has any disadvantages or is harder to setup than the normal shape.

Any info is appreciated - Thanks

·
LeT gO mY EgGs GRoLL
8,959 Posts
Welcome
to the site...

Personally I dont really recomend that kind of tank to put piranha in....maybe Serra. family not pygo.

It would be long tank or wide tank for them to fully grow and happy. Those kind of tank I suggest to put a single Serra. in there...depending how big the tank is.

You can put small tiny little reds in there for a while not for long...there will out grow that tank.

·
I will bite your face!
7,436 Posts
not really ideal for keeping these kinda fish. If you can score one that is 50-75 gallons you might be able to keep one or 2 RBP's. The problem with these types of tanks is they are usually taller then idea for making usage of the amount of water you're getting. P's need more swimming around room rather then up and down. you would really if keeping one RBP you would likely want to give it at least 2wx3lx2t space minimum.

You might have better luck putting a smaller rhom in a tank like this since they like to be kept solo anyhow and they tend to grow much slower and that would give you more time before you would need to upgrade to a larger tank.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·