Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have quite a few questions here. first, i just got a tank. its dimensions are 48 x 13 x 15. i thought i was getting a 55g tank, but i dont think these dimensions fit a 55g, right? how many P's can i put in a tank this size? also, i got an undergravel filter with it, and there are two seperate plastic crates, does this mean i need a powerhead for each crate? how much gravel should i put on top of the crates? what kind of pump is reccommended. how long should i let the water cycle before i get the fish? and what kind of plants and decorations are reccommended. as much general information as all of you have would be great. i am very new to this, and just trying to get started off right.
thanks

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
well after a little searching, i guess my tank is about a 40g long. thats what one table i found said. is this enough for two p's?

·
Registered
458 Posts
You should go with either 1 or 3 Reds. 2 will only fight until you have 1. I would run 2 powerheads on your UGF and put a nice layer of rocks on top.

-Kevin-

·
Registered
219 Posts
Go with under gravel filter if you absolutly must, ive never tried it but from everyone elses complaints about it, i hear its a bitch to use with piranas. P's are dirty little bastards, and you are probably better off with a different type of filtration. The ones that hang of the back are good enough. the water needs to cycle for around 3 weeks, or until your water levels get into the norm. Get a test kit and monintor the ammonia nitrite etc. Plastic plants work fine. Get wood for your piranas to hide in.

·
Beautiful One
8,799 Posts
I would go with two reds because you don't want to seperate the pygos, or go get a rhom or any serrasalmus species if you want just one.

·
OPEFE
10,249 Posts
Man you have a long way to go...