Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
1,326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been recently checking out a 2003 thread where members wer showing off their tanks and I noticed that MANY memebers have overcrowded P tanks. When I arrived here as a newbie I was told that 3 reds is the max I can put in a 55 gal. But I saw tons of members with 4-5 reds, a pleco, aggressive cichets in one 55gal. Thats just one example. Most of u might say, " I'm sure those tanks are temporary untill they outgrow them" , but the P's in these tanks are like 6-7 inches already. Its just wierd that so many ppl say 20gal per P and so many ppl ignore this rule. So can I put more P's and fish in my 55gal? I would like to hear from all the tank overstockers if u pease. Thanks

· Registered
542 Posts
i've had 4 rbps in my 60 gallon for about 1.5years. they grew to be about 8" there. i think that is a good number for a tank that size. not 20g/per fish rule but it worked out fine for me. my opinon on the 20gallon per fish rule is that it's just there guide people. as you become more aware of what your ps are capable of, then you take advantage of it.

· Registered
114 Posts
I had a 55 gallon tank with an oscar, 5 red bellies and a bunch of jack demspey fry. The piranha eventually ate everything. Then my friend killed the piranha. Rules for how many fish per gallon can only be guidelines. Adequate filtration and tank layout can increase the number of fish you can keep.
Anybody you tells me how I "should" keep my fish is retarded.

· Registered
18,153 Posts
You can do it. Hell, you can even cram a 12" rhom in a 20g tank, but before you do, ask yourself this question: what does really matter to you? Keeping healthy fish that have enough swimming room and are comfortable in their tank, or just stuff as many fish in your tank as possible, probably making their lives miserable?