Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys i'm new to piranha keeping..i have a 50 ltr tank cycling at the moment i just want to find out something.i have just changed my carbon filter to the polyester one. i'll leave it in for about a week.. i have to get a nitrate kit, should i get a bacteria booster? and also should i put a few guppies in now or when i'm finished the last stress zyme dose on the 14th day

Attachments

·
Registered
2,279 Posts
its about 2 and a quarter feet x 1 and a 3rd..and i hope to keep 4-5 babys until february and then i will get a juwel 180 for them.
Maybe it will work but only for a month because redbellies do grow very fast. I say do alot of water changes 2-3 during the week and have good filteration. Piranhas do produce alot of waste. Take out any leftover food.

Agree with coldfire, Get some bio-spira, that should help the cycle get started.

·
Registered
1,919 Posts
keep your eyes open for nipping G/L

·
WWTCD?
9,785 Posts
A 50L tank is only about 13 US gallons. That's relatively tiny. And even the 180L is only about 47.5 US gallons... In either case you're talking about tanks that are too small for the fish you are intending to put into them. I would suggest picking up three red bellies at about the size of a UK 20p piece. Nothing bigger than a 50p piece FOR SURE. If you can't find them this small then wait...

The reason why you don't want to be putting too many in there is because they grow fairly fast and will start to attack each other, even possibly killing each other. By going with three you're minimizing that. And the three will likely be able to live in your final tank size, though it may still be slightly cramped.