Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Rodgers' Aquatics
2,538 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK...1 Fish Dead, Another Almost...Time To Start Over. All Fish Moved To A Safe "Cycled" Tank, At Least I Think It's Cycled...I Need To Know How To Cycle My Tank. I'm Cleaning All Of The Play Sand That's In My 75 Gallon Tank Right Now, I Should Have Done That Before Hand. (I'm An Idiot) But I'm Learning. So Basically What I Get From These Forums Is To Make Sure Substrate Is Clean And Not Full Of Dirt And Other Misc. Crap...Fill With Water And Chlorene Treatment...Wait Like A Week, Then Add Fish Slowly? One At A Time? Is This Correct? I Have A Water Test Kit Too Weee!!! So Tell Me What To Do Guys..Ya'll Are The Experts...I'm Just A Newb Trying To Keep Hoplias Malabaricus Alive!!!

·
Registered
5,295 Posts
thats not right. You need to clean the sand and add dechlorinated water as you said, but you dont just let it sit there. You need to add an ammonia source, and ideally add bio media from an established tank. For the ammonia source, you could do the fishless cycle, or you could add goldfish or other hardy tropical fish. For the bio media, you could get media from someone you know and put it in your filter, or maybe a fish store buy you will sell or give you some. You will need to let the cycle go through before it is safe to put your important fish in there. This means an ammonia spike and drop to zero, a nitrite spike and drop to zero, and all you are left with is nitrites.

·
Rodgers' Aquatics
2,538 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·