Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Got Rice?!?
2,648 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
After about a week of trying to get them to accept that Cichlid Gold pellets are in fact food, it seems that I have successfuly switched them. There are alot of benifits to having them be able to take pellets as a food source, such as added nutrients, added coloration (due to cichlid gold), and the ability to set up an automatic feeder in the case if I leave for a few days. I live in LA since I am a student, but frequently travel to San Francisco area since that is where I am from. Last time I went home, I could not leave my fish for more then 3 days, since that was the max number of days that I expected 30 large feeders to stick around in the tank. Now I can have an automatic feeder set up with pellets. This also puts alot less bio load on the tank.

The way that I did it was to deny the spilos meat products as food. I just offered them pellets for 3 days. This was kinda risky and I had to keep an eye on them because if these spilos got too hungry, they would easily turn on each other. After offering the pellets and if they did not take them, I would remove an floating ones after about 15 minutes. Not to remove them because I thought they might put bio load on my tank. Instead i did it because I wanted them to see the food as such since I feed them at the same time every morning. They are almost conditioned to recognize me as their food source in the morning, so if i offered the pellets only in the morning, then I would have a higher chance they would take it.