Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is for newbees.

I'm relatively new to fish keeping hobby and I have spent a lot of hours trying to figure out how the wet & dry systems should work and I came to the conclusion that a good W&D filter is the one that don't let the bio media, e.g bio balls, to be submerged completely in the water.

After getting so many inputs from senior members of this group and other groups as well, and carefully study pictures of their W&D filters, (this is the painfull part because pictures I was able to obtain are usually of tanks that are already set up and running with fishes and everything in and mostly taken at certain angle where you really can't see them clearly and to the beginners w/ no experience whatsoever to the hobby, these pictures could be very hard to study) so I decided to draw, with my so-so drawing skills, 2 different designs of wet & dry filter system that would be easy to understand for those who are new to the hobby.

I know there are a lot of great designs out there but IMHO one that RedShoal (pic #1) built is one of the most practical and economical way to setup and maintain. Economical because, it only uses 1 pump to run. Practical because among other things, it is built into the tank it self, so you won't need an extra space to put it. No complicated pipe settings etceteras.

Basically, this filter setup is best for people who already have their bare tank and stand that fit to support said tank.