Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Your Kung Fu is No Good Here...
4,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to ps, ive had 2 3" ps for a couple of weeks now. After doing some reading on this forum Ive heard that two in a tank is not a good idea. While mine have been fine so far, should I add a third?

Usually this would be an obvious yes i suppose, but i currently have very limited space. They are in a 20gal right now, which trust me I know is WAY too small, but it is just temporary while they are smaller. Within the next 2-3 months MAX ill be buying a 125gal to move them into.

With that in mind, should i go for the third or will that be too crouded for the next couple months? thanks on advance for the help!

-Mike

·
Registered
818 Posts
people on here will tell you different things. i had three and one was eaten. i now have two which seem to get on fine...... for now.
depends on personality of fish etc etc etc....

i would keep the two for now and when u upgrade get a third or even another two. this would allow for 31g per fish in a 125g tank.

·
4,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sounds good, thanks guys. My plan had always been to start with the two, then when I upgrade in a couple months add a couple more, either 2 or 3 more. So ill stick with that plan. Thanks again.

-Mike

·
4,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well, they had been getting along. Over the past two days Ive noticed a little "animosity" where they are chasing eachother a little bit, actually oddly enough the smaller of the two is chasing the larger one, who has almost an inch on him right now. Im sure its not a big deal, but would adding a third keep the fighting between them down, or just mix things up more?

Its not a severe case, just mild chasing right now, but I want to fix the problem before it starts if you guys think Im going to have one (a problem).

Thanks again guys.

-Mike

·
4,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·