Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok , so im new to keeping p's but i have a red belly with what looks like fungus on his lip so i purchase some melafix because i figure it should treat it....but my questions is, i just started to cycle my tank with bio spira yesterday and i dont know if its ok to treat my p with melafix before the tank has been completly cycled?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i didnt know anything about a cycle tank till i had the fish this is all new to me, so i bought bio spira to speed it up, i dont have any other tanks to keep my p's in until its cycled thats y there in there.....should i put the fish that has the mouth fungis in a large bucket and treat him? or should i jus wait till the tank is cycle to treat him

·
LeT gO mY EgGs GRoLL
8,959 Posts
it should be ok...you can treat it with melafix and some aquarium salt...make sure do some good water change.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
it should be ok...you can treat it with melafix and some aquarium salt...make sure do some good water change.
when should i start water changes and how much water.....i dont wanna mess with the cycle....i just started my water is

ph 6.8
ammonium 1.0
nitate 0
nitrite 0
and 80 degrees

·
Nurses Do It Better
10,000 Posts
You can add a little predissolved salt to the tank to help the fish get through the nitrite spike. You can add a conditioner that detoxifies ammonia. You can use melafix/salt with bio spira. I would just let nature takes its course after taking the mentioned precautions. If you only have one red belly feed very sparingly. Monitor your pH, if you notice a drop perform a 25% water change with a conditioner that treats chlorine and chloramines if your water is "city water"

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·