Piranhas Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
~ATLANTA BRAVES~
18,086 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's up guys! Im new to this forum, but I have been reading your posts for a week now. My question is concerning the best set-up for my Piranhas. I am totally new to this. I just got my Piranhas (6 RB) last week and I am not totally sure how to set up there tank. I do have experience with other fish, so no worries there. They are just babies now ( about the size of a quater) in a 40 gallon tank. I will be moving them into a 150 gallon tank in a week or two, and wanted to make their tank look bad ass! Maybe some drift wood/ rock/ plant/ powerheads?
Im not sure whats best? And what types of wood or rock to stay away from? Any responses are greatly apreciated!

·
Registered
22,692 Posts
Basically, it's up to you how you want to set up your tank :smile:

Just imagine how a tropical fresh water stream would look like, and try to mimic that. In my opinion, that means alot of bog wood and pieces of root, live plants in abundance, some rock formations, and also an open area for them to swim around freely. You could direct a powerhead towards the open area to create a riverlike flow as well.
Just have a look in the pics forum, and look at the websites people link to in their signatures: that should give you an idea.

Good luck

·
~ATLANTA BRAVES~
18,086 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Kool! Where can I buy this "bog wood" ? Is it at certain stores? Also as far as rocks go, is there certain one sthat would be better than others? I read somewhere that some types of rock will mess with the waters chemistry? True?

·
Registered
2,408 Posts
Welcome to the site.