Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey this is my first time here. I'm 17 and just got my first piranhas- pygocentrus cariba and serrasalmus compressus. I just needed a wee bit of info. First of all, if I put too much food in the tank will they over eat? How fast do they grow and when do you move them up to the next bigger size tank? Also I don't know how stupid a question this is but can two different piranha genus' breed? Please respond guys!!!
****A$$ pinches and Sour grapes****

Baraccuda
}--]--D<

·
tap or snap
11,911 Posts
do NOT mix the two. you aren't to mix serras and pygos. as for the food, if you put to much in they wont finish it all and the left overs will begin to rot and release ammonia into the water. that's a bad thing. after they're done eating, net out the remaining food.

for growth, pygos grow about one inch a month until they hit the 5-6" mark. then they slow down to about 1/2" a month i believe. not too sure about the compressus, but they stay relatively small. [piranhas are not sexually dimorphic. in other words, you can't tell male from female.]

but you definitely need to seperate the two.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hyphen said:
do NOT mix the two. you aren't to mix serras and pygos. as for the food, if you put to much in they wont finish it all and the left overs will begin to rot and release ammonia into the water. that's a bad thing. after they're done eating, net out the remaining food.

for growth, pygos grow about one inch a month until they hit the 5-6" mark. then they slow down to about 1/2" a month i believe. not too sure about the compressus, but they stay relatively small. [piranhas are not sexually dimorphic. in other words, you can't tell male from female.]

but you definitely need to seperate the two.
[snapback]931344[/snapback]​
Thankx for the info! but why cant they be together? could they breed if they were two dif sexes?