Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
8,405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought I'd share a few shots I took at my job. I am a broadcast systems engineer for QVC and we are in the middle of a major upgrade of our production systems, we are going HD.

Enjoy:

View attachment 128755
View attachment 128766
These are shots of our new camera/lense setups. The lenses are Canon and camera bodies are Sony. The camer uses a hybrid copper/fiber cable. The fibers are single mode, one going from the camera to the control unit, and one from the control unit to the camera. The fibers run FULL bandwidth 10Gbps in each direction to accomodate massive fram/resolution rates and many channels of return video and comunication back to the camera head.

View attachment 128767
These are the camera control units or CCU's. The multiplex the communication signals to send to the head, and compress the signal down to 1.485 Gbps which is the HD production standard.

View attachment 128759
These are the production switchers. This is what switches the various sources and keys in the graphics.
View attachment 128760
This is the switcher head that lives in the control room. It's like a giant keyboard, the signals are processed in the frame above, but this panel is used to control the frame

View attachment 128757
These are the video servers. They record and playback the video clips we broadcast.

View attachment 128761
View attachment 128762
These are shots of the computer floor in our equipment room. It is 18" deep and filled to the top in some places. We have over 400 miles of cable throughout the facility

View attachment 128763
View attachment 128764
View attachment 128764
This is a new monitor wall we are building. It uses DLP screens to monitor the various sources the technical director can switch to. The middle will be good old CRT's for the preview, and program signals. NOTHIN is a true as a CRT monitor and it is the ONLY kind we use to monitor critical signals