Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Your Kung Fu is No Good Here...
4,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After wanting to start a rb tank for a couple years i finally did it.
Never been more excited! Ive done tropical tanks for years but havent had the room or resources to start with p's, but it finally became possible.

Im starting small as a newbie, i have 2 red bellies about 3" now. However over the summer i plan on getting a larger tank...prob about 125 gallon, and with that id definately like to add some more. How much problems does this usually cause?

If my luck continues as my two are doing great so far, started eating right away and are taking almost everything i give them (lovin the shrimp). i figure theyll be around 6" by the summer when i upgrade. Is it possible to add maybe 3-5 more, obviously smaller rbs then, or will they conflict with the two bigger ones too much?

Thanks for any input in advance and I look forward to talking with everyone on the boards!

-Mike

·
Registered
7,579 Posts
Welcome to P-Fury Mike. General rule is 1 fish per 20gallon. It's best to introduce same size fish to your 125g to avoid possible domination from the 2 bigger Ps.

·
2012 Is the year the World ENDS!!!&#33
4,009 Posts
The 1 fish per 20gallon rule is more like a guided line. Some people get away with 1 fish per 10 gallon. Some p's have to be alone but others may differ there opinion on this. Read up in the information center but if you have any problems there are tons of people here on P-fury who can help. rchan11 is right about the size of the P's. It could be done but watch them and feed them.

·
Registered
1,772 Posts