Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I just want to say that I've found a lot of useful information on this site and I thank all of you who post your experience/recommendations, much of it has come in handy. So here's my dilemma/question: I'm a newbie piranha owner and bought 4 rbp's this past week for my 55 gal tank. All are under an inch right now so I'm assuming they're very young. One of them has already died and I wonder if it's because I'm not feeding them enough? I bought frozen blood worms and frozen baby brine shrimp and am curious as to how much you guys think I should be giving them? It seems like only one of them eats when I put the food in there and the others just hide in the plants. I can tell that the one who I see eat has already grown a little but the other ones are still pretty small so I'm not sure if they are even eating at all. I also have some flakes that I have tried and it's the same scenario. I'm just afraid that the one who I see eating will kill off the other 2 I have left and I would like to have more than one. Also, with the baby brine shrimp, I can't even tell if they are eating it as it seems to dissolve when I drop it in the water. Is this normal? I'd say I put about nickle size servings in there twice a day. Do you guys think this is enough food? Should I feed them more than twice a day? Is there any way to way to make sure the smaller ones are eating? Sorry if these are stupid questions but like I said, I'm a newbie rbp owner and don't know a whole lot about them. Any informations/suggestions you have would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,323 Posts
I doubt if that one piranha that died did so because of starvation. Piranha can go up to 3 weeks in the wild without food.