Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Here are some pics I just took of my 150 gallon tank with 7 red bellies. The last 2 pics are views from above the tank, the plants are water sprite and water lettuce. The rock you see in the last pic is actually in a hole I drilled in the piece of driftwood on the right side of the tank. Let me know what ya think...I'm kinda new with piranhas. By the way, the reason the water level is so low, is because I am trying to do a simulation of the dry season right now.

·
im offended and this is tastless,take it down &#33
4,277 Posts
sweet tank u better than me im not into all that plant stuff

·
Registered
127 Posts
Tank looks great to me man.I've always loved the look of live plants way more than plastic plants.I never did simulate the dry season when I was breeding piranhas here.You can do it and it does help but it is much easier and less srtessful on them to just feed them well and do your weekly waterchanges.My would always respond and spawn the day after the waterchange.Time is also of the esssance when breeding.They must be old enough to spawn as well.If they are young they might spawn but chances are that the spawns will be small and could or could not be infertile.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys!

Thanks PNut for all your advice! If anyone else has bred p's and wants to contribute their experiences please feel free. The more info., the better.

I realize these guys are still a little young to breed, I just figured I would start a cycle with them, figuring if I go a month or so with low water and more blackwater extract, then go back to a full tank and daily water changes. I figure experimenting can't hurt. I'll let you all know how things turn out.

·
rhombeus
3,659 Posts