Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this maybe kind of a stupid question, but ive had 3 rbp's for about a month and im still learning alot about this species of fish, especially with the help of you guys. anyways, my question is how big to the teeth really get on these guys? do they literally stick out of the fish's mouth? just curious because ive read talk about people actually cutting the lips off of there fish (i think thats really cruel to do) to make them more meaner looking. i saw a full grown red belly at the lfs and its teeth were pretty big and i was just wandering if my fish will look intimidating like that or was i just imagining the teeth that big. thanks for all your help.

·
Registered
14,961 Posts
anyways, my question is how big to the teeth really get on these guys?
I have the jaw of a large (over 20 inch S. rhombeus) in my possession (see also Body Parts of Piranha at OPEFE). The largest tooth on this specimen is just a bit over a 1/4 inch. There might be some larger, but not sure as I have never seen it.

·
Registered
14,961 Posts
i just wondering hastatus in all your years of studing,collecting and studying species have you ever been bit?and what was the worst one?