Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok... i have a sick sound system in my house... i like to play my music really loud...
Here's a pic of my setup... my fish are in a different room probably 15 feet away threw the wall... Its just SOOO loud! i dunno tell me what you think...

ps.... the space between the speakers on the wall is my TV. 130 inch... Projected... setup to my Playstation 2, my Dish, and i have a computer system running strait VGA to it! Looks so sick its awesome!!!

· Registered
486 Posts
ive done some personal "studies" and have found out that my p's do indeed hear noise outside the tank pretty well... even on normal voice level within a few feet of the tank they do show some response. im not an expert so i couldnt tell you how this can affect you p's tho but you might want to think about it a little... im sure someone else can contribute.

· Registered
18,153 Posts
buette said:
hello
you can bisect some tennis balls and put them under your subs, it works fine against the deep bass vibes

but i think P´s dont´love loud music
[snapback]845371[/snapback]​
That's good advice

It's not the sounds itself that really bothers the fish (except low tones), but rather it's the pressure waves that travel through the floor that the fish pick up through their lateral line. Low frequency sound waves are also picked up that way.
It's a defense mechanism of fish (pressure waves reaching the sensors in the lateral line trigger unvoluntary muscle contractions, because of which a fish will move to avoid a predator) - too much stimulation, for example caused by loud music, can cause lots of stress to fish. Not necessarily, but it can happen, so best try it out shortly and see how loud music affects your fish: if they become (and remain) nervous, it's up to you to decide what's more important to you: loud music or your fish's well-being.

· Registered
813 Posts