Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new to the piranah keeping world so i figured you guys could give me some advice. i three rbp in a 10 gal tank( they are about an inch in length). i put them in the small tank so they could get there food a little easier( they eat bloodworms right now). i have a 55 gal and plan on getting a 125 gal soon. the only tank mates they will have is 2 plecos and a red belly pacu that is about 8 inches long. how long should i wait to introduce them in the larger tank, do you think there would be a conflict in the tank, and when should i begin to add some meat to their diet.

·
Registered
4,112 Posts
...since your new its easy to make misteaks...im not one of those people who freaks on beginners....so 1st off..a 10g tank is way to small for any piranha...neverless 3 of them in there....im assuming aswell that your pacu is in the 55 (technically thats getting pretty small for him aswell) your 3 u got would have to be 2-3" smaller then the pacu to get tossed in a tank with him w/o MAJOR problems happening....i know your trying to do right by putting them in a tank so food is easier to get at...im going to guarentee you that people will bitch hard about your scenerio, saying to take the p's back to wherever or sell them until you have a proper housing for them....your 3 p's wont grow much in a 10g...i would strongly VERY STRONGLY advise you to get that bigger tnak...toss your pacu in it and toss the 3 in there...then they will grow nice and quick....hope this helped you out....and to size matter they can grow 1-2" a month in a proper environment

·
Allergic to stupid sh*t!!!
4,364 Posts
It's the 20 gal per fish rule. But that flys out the window when you get into you real big tanks 180+ gal. You should buy at least a 75 gallon.

·
Is a Boss.
4,236 Posts
get rid of the pacu, he might eat your piranhas and he will get huge and ugly.