Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,584 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys i have been slacking on getting some more tankmates for my two JD's

Im pretty sure i have one male and a female. They are living the life in a 135 gallon tank 8ft long about 16-18 inches wide

they are in tehre with a common pleco and alot of deco.

Heres the main concern. One of my Jd's just chills in one corner of the tank at the corner of one of the AC500 filters and at the bottom of the same corner all day except when its feeding time.

the other JD is fine, swims around etc

I think they need some tank mates but i really need some guidance here. Im going to change around the deco maybe and hopefully get some more fish.

Oscar? how many ?

Green terror?

what other cichlids . CA ones most likely correct?

im a real slacker and need some good advice. I have been keeping piranhas for a few years so im not new to fish keeping.

·
Registered
2,351 Posts
Actually oscars usually go together well with JDs given enough space. Just find an oscar bigger than your Jds, but not so big as to eat them. A green terror would be nice as well. Plenty of room for and oscar or GT, and a fleet of dithers.

·
Banned
14,902 Posts
in short, welcome to the mysterious world of the jack dempsey. your jd that does nothing is just fine. i also have two jd's and they are opposites. both healthy, both well off in their tanks. just different. the best way to spark activity in the jd is tank mates but the right ones. convicts work well, oscars work wonderfuly and barbs tend to keep active enough to bring a shy jd out of his shell. however, there is nothing wrong with an inactive jd. each one is different which is why you often see jd's selling for dirt cheap and why i see lots of asdult jd's for sale lately. people grow inpatient. just have some patience and try some decor changing or some tank mates stated above. in any case he may remain stubornly shy.

·
Registered
2,302 Posts