Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to this Piranha keeping game.

I aquired this piranha a little over a month ago. The kid in my dorm, bought it and the aquarium and everything, then stopped wanting the fish and was basically going to let it die. When I got him, he wasn't eating or swimming well. But i got him a new tank with new water and everything.

Either way he has lived through this ordeal. and his name is sad because well he's sad.

anyway can you tell me if he is healthy from these pictures?

Attachments

·
LeT gO mY EgGs GRoLL
8,959 Posts
Yes he/she look very healthy...but he/she look stress for sure.

What tank size you got it in and what you have been feeding it? Since you new here some infor. you need to know about piranha and how to take care of it.

Piranha are unpredictable...it can be skittish or it can be aggressive depending on indiviual fish itself.

Food: you should feed them every day and variety different food ever week. such as shrimp, prawn, silver side, beef heart, smelt, fish fillet, talapia, pellets, etc...

you temp should be around 78-82f...

water change once a week 25%-50%..

ph around 6.5-7 are good..

if your piranha sick, add some aqaurium salt and melafix and raise up the temp..if it stress add some stress coat.

Good Luck.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks,

It's a ten gallon tank, it's all I can use. He just made a 2.5 hour jounrey in a car and that picture was taken only a day after being transported. Normally he swims around and such.

I feed him chicken, chiclid pellets, shrimp, squid, and beef heart.

·
LeT gO mY EgGs GRoLL
8,959 Posts
thanks,

It's a ten gallon tank, it's all I can use. He just made a 2.5 hour jounrey in a car and that picture was taken only a day after being transported. Normally he swims around and such.

I feed him chicken, chiclid pellets, shrimp, squid, and beef heart.