Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
919 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well since the guy from Brazil lied to me about the Piraya, I have another identification problem. Gold vs. Gibbus. These two fish were ideintified as gibbus from different locals.. Kinda like Nats, and Ternetzi.... you guys have more knowlede than I. I really appreciate all the feed back an help.
These fish look nothing alike. One has black and the end of the anal fin, and yellow and the beginnin. The other has black and the beginning and yelow at the end.. Once has red eyes, and the other has bronze eyes.... OMG Just how many different piranhas are there???? I have posted pics of both sets. To the best of my knowledg spilo's have a clear band and the end of the tail fin. Neither of these fish have these quality. The first I have almost excepted as a gold, but uncertain. Hell my major is physics.. Collecting, and now learning to identify piranhas is my hobby... Oh yeah the first set are the once that were with my Redbelly shcool when breeding accured... I would really like to know beyond a shadow of a doubt the species. The second laid eggs but they were wite and unfertile... Fungus and decay took them over.. I may try to breed that one again.

You guys are quite knowledgable here

·
Registered
14,961 Posts
I don't want to discourage you from finding out the ID's on your fishes. Might be better if you read this page and look at the individual species that might represent the ones you have here. You have the fish in front of you and while photos are nice, they don't always capture the actual appearance. Please take the time to review the link below. Click on each species names provided on this page:
Table of Contents for Piranas

I might add, the first photo has the appearance of Pristobrycon calmoni. Note the oversized adipose fin and black tail.

·
Registered
14,961 Posts
serrasalmus_collector Posted on Apr 26 2003, 07:24 AM