Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I followed nathans guide. I just did the 12 hour bleech. I used like a 15:1 ratio tho I didnt want to much bleech. Anyways Is my wood suppose to turn white??? If so will it get back its color?? I dont use bleech at all so I am not sure if I did it right. I am new to this and prob messed up somewhere. Anyways I empty the water out and added hot water with dychlorinator. More like triple the dose to make sure I get the bleech out and I am going to repeat it in the morning. Then I am going to let the wood dry out in my basement next to my furnace for awhile then resoak and then Goldfish test it to see if they live for a week or so. Well Anyways the real thing I want to know is the color going to come back. Sorry if this is a dumb question I am a newb. thx for any help.

·
Registered
1,651 Posts
I put a piece in my 29 that I bleached like 10 times (it was stubborn). It is almost back to normal already...looks great..been about a month

·
Registered
17 Posts
Well I hope the driftwood works out for ya. I'm new to this site too and I live right next to the ocean and badly want to add some drift wood to our tank and have gone around the pet stores but they either don't have what I want or its too expensive so I've decided I'm gonna spend a afternoon soon looking for some along the beach but what is the best and safest way to clean it for the tank? I know this question has been asked before but can't seem to find it. Sorry. I'm wondering if bleach is really the best thing. I don't know.

Thanks, Les

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well if i could find like a cauldren or something I would have just boiled mine but I couldnt so I used the bleech. I hope it turns out ok. In the end I will find some way to get decent parasite free driftwood without paying a lfs.

·
Registered
1,651 Posts