Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
919 Posts
I am trying a breeding experiment with my diamond spilopleura complex species... I haven't added this fish to the collony because some tell me it may be a mendinai... I tried to give pic of serrations... Sorry I don't have a digital cam this pic is about 6 months old... I will be getting one monday, and getting any views that will help.... Identifying piranhas is a really hard thing to do.. but I am studying.. I bought 2 more books yesteday... "Piranhas fact of fiction, and pirnahas in the aquarium" Here are the pics... I also belive this guy is to small.. He wouldn't have a chance it my larger diamonds went after him

·
Got Rice?!?
2,648 Posts
That is definately a SpiloCF(medinai).

~Dj

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Do you know where this fish was taken from? medinai are very rare, the chances of having one are quite slim at the present time.

·
Got Rice?!?
2,648 Posts
I think that he is still using the old name of medinai, when refering to spilocf. It is a SpiloCF and not a medinai. Spilo cf where sold as medinai, but in all actuallity the medinai is a rare fish in the trade. Most people that think they have medinai, the fish is actually a spilocf. They look very similar.

~Dj

·
Registered
14,961 Posts
serrasalmus_collector Posted on Apr 27 2003, 01:51 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------