Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question about telling apart the sex of a piranha. I've been noticing one of my red bellies has very dark color and little to no red at all except in his/her anal fin and was curious if this was a distinguishing mark of a certain sex. I have pics to help.

·
Registered
698 Posts
"I've been noticing one of my red bellies has very dark color and little to no red at all except in his/her anal fin and was curious if this was a distinguishing mark of a certain sex."

No way to tell even from a picture. Just watch them and keep fingers crossed. You might have at least 1 male or 1 female.

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm not a scientist but it does strike me as odd that he/she started out just like the rest of my piranha's and then over the past couple weeks has become extremely dark. If its stress then the rest should have the same reaction as they're introduced to the same tank condition. Also I find it hard to believe that his/her color would change so dramatically for no reason at all. Perhaps Frank could enlighten me in terms I could understand why or why not the varying color distinguishes between sex or is for some other reason.

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The other thing I can add is that I'm not even sure they've reached sexual maturity so it confuses me even more. My largest is around 6 inches and the rest range between 4-5+ inches.

·
Registered
698 Posts
"in terms I could understand why or why not the varying color distinguishes between sex or is for some other reason. "