Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to pirahnas- and these are my first two- they have been puttin on some serious size lately- and their colors have totally changed-

UI know its not usual to be able to keep two caribe alone- but they have their dithers: a big pacu and some black skirt and buenos aires tetras- and their seems to be little to no aggresion between them- any thing else i put in there dies
these are Narc from P-fish's old fish- and they do seem to be quite a pair- the larger one being in charge- heres the link

http://www.arofanatics.com/members/pikefish/caribe/

·
The ASSMAN
20,469 Posts
I think one reason you can keep them is the added dithers and the pacu is a great aggression atracter, but it is not unheard of keeping 2 pygos together. Great fish! How big..i was trying to guess and am thinking around 7-8"?

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm not sure how long Narc had them- but I'm pretty sure it was a while - they were in a much bigger tank with tons of ps- now they are in a smaller tank by themselves- well with the pacu eating machine- they get steak or salmon every night with an occasional feeder- but the pacu eats most of the feeders- they have totally changed since i got them- check out these pics- like 2 months old

http://www.arofanatics.com/members/pikefish/yeah/

you can see they both had much darker spots- and their heads hadn't turned yellow yet- they have put on alot of bulk- but not too much length- probably about 7" now- but they are really thick for their size

·
Registered
539 Posts
those are some healthy lookin pygos

do those other fish chill in the tank with the caribe or are they food?

Oburi

·
Registered
360 Posts
Those are really nice fish .... what size tank do you have them in?

I am amzed that they don't bother the other fish ... I suppose that if you are feeding them plenty then it may well prevent them from 'snacking' on tank mates

·