Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im kind of new to the pirahna scene, i have three 2 inch rbp's, but what are the most to least aggressive pirahnas. and how do redbelly's stack up?

·
Registered
27,223 Posts
Hi chopper....welcome to the board. Aggressiveness is really a objective measure but generally Red Bellies are considered the least aggressive of the pygocentrus genus. People might think differenly but from what I have been told, "aggessiveness" in pygos from least to most goes Red Belly, Caribe, Piraya. I could be wrong as I have never seen a piraya in action....

·
Registered
14,961 Posts
Aggressiveness is really a objective measure but generally Red Bellies are considered the least aggressive of the pygocentrus genus. People might think differenly but from what I have been told, "aggessiveness" in pygos from least to most goes Red Belly, Caribe, Piraya. I could be wrong as I have never seen a piraya in action....
Of course this is all viewed from the aquario in what people think based on personal views of their individual specimens.

Realistically and speaking from species in nature, they are all aggressive and no accurate measurement can be assimilated from the 3 species. But generally speaking the Orinoco red-bellies are considered very bad in some locations because of their conditioned feedings.

·
Registered
27,223 Posts
Yes there is no true way to measure aggressiveness. But hobbyists generally use my heirarchy above in terms of the home aquarium.

·
Registered
14,961 Posts
Xenon Posted on Mar 20 2003, 08:05 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
QUOTE (hastatus @ Mar 20 2003, 01:07 PM)
But hobbyists generally use my heirarchy above in terms of the home aquarium.

True for this board.

What are your own personal rankings?
Personal