Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
I've been keeping my 5 rbps for since september 2006 and their sizes range from 3 to 5in. All of them are still slightly spotty. They are housed in a 55g and have grown about two inches since I got them.

So theres the background, my first question is what is the usual growth rate? How often should I be feeding them at this size and development?
Thanks

Also presently I feed them once every two days and have had a lot of trouble with ammonia.

·
Registered
3,777 Posts
I've been keeping my 5 rbps for since september 2006 and their sizes range from 3 to 5in. All of them are still slightly spotty. They are housed in a 55g and have grown about two inches since I got them.

So theres the background, my first question is what is the usual growth rate? How often should I be feeding them at this size and development?
Thanks

Also presently I feed them once every two days and have had a lot of trouble with ammonia.
i think you will need a bigger tank. they grow very quick, and to house 5 permenantly i would suggest at least a 100/120 gallon tank with a 6 ft long footprint...As far as feeding goes at that size i would personnaly feed them once a day, and do a 20-40% water change once a week , this will help with your ammonia.. post some pics man

·
Registered
4,114 Posts
I would definitely recommend feeding them at least once a day, if not twice a day still.

Also, some more background on your tank would be helpful... what are your water parameters now? How often are you doing water changes? What kind of filtration do you have? Are you using a gravel vac when you do your water changes?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Water params are PH7.0, Ammonia 40ppm, Nitrate 20, Nitrite 0. Also, I only plan on keeping three I have a friend who will take two off my hands soon.

As for a gravel vac, I've been using a siphon which tends to get a decent amount of solid debris out from inside the gravel.