Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
:nod: i've been maintaining piranhas for 25 years,and most of the times i've been successful in keeping them a long time, that is because i've always picked my piranha personally to make sure they were in tip top shape, but sometimes some bad stuff afflicting piranhas are invisible to the naked eye so they pop-up at a later time that is when we turn to medications....BAD MOVE !!!...most of the times meds. do not work or they kill the fish! the best cure is PREVENTION. filters and water changes are never superfluous, but sometimes the condition was already there when you bought the fish and it was invisible until the condition becomes full blown, then you start seeing things...and you get frustrated...spend a lot of money on meds.that work very little or do not work at all..and sometimes kills the fish.....THIS IS WHAT I DO! i get rid of the sick fish and i get rid of the disease and my frustration, and use that money for medications to buy a brand new healthy piranha,
so now i have a new piranha in my tank a new novelty new colors new attitude to enjoy and the hell with the frustrations and stress of diseased fishes and medications that do not work,believe me it sounds stupid but is the best thing to do..i've tryied every thing with medications and spent a lot of money and a lot of hassle
with water changes raising temperatures etc.
you do not need all this sh*t after all it is not a human being or a dog .cat etc...it is just a fish! enjoy them but never get too attached, this way it will be much easier to get rid of them when they become a pain in the ass.
spend your life enjoing more important things in this world......YOUR PEACE OF MIND!!
ARAMAX

·
LionHart
13,099 Posts
Yeah, I don't view my fish as being quite so "Disposable."
Part of the responsibility of having a creature under your care is to do just that... "Care" for them.

·
Registered
4,112 Posts