Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at keeping Piranha and I have read about them before I purchased them. I thought I set the tank up correctly, but I am missing something. After only 3 days with the fish in the new tank, there was a smell coming from the tank (I figured this must be from Algae). You can see a slight foaming around the edges of the tank. Does anyone know why there would be so much Algae in the tank already? Is there certain chemicals or testing I can do to straighten this out? PLEASE if anyone has suggestions, I would be very grateful.

Thanks,

Stephen

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had the tank set up for 48 hours before I put the piranha in. The tank is located in my office, it is not near a window at all. Could the lights in my office (ceiling lights) cause the algae groth in the tank?

· Premium Member
2,283 Posts
Something smells here, and it is NOT the algae !!!

I think you are confusing algae and amonia, or something. Do you SEE algae? Is it green? brown? If your water smells, and is foaming, it sounds like you are in the middle of a pretty good tank cycle. What you're smelling is the buildup of organics that the bacteria base in your filter can not handle. I suggest you do a little research on cycling a tank.

Am I all wet here?????

g

PS. Do an amonia/nitrite test.

· Registered
1,900 Posts
i agree wiht george did u cycle your tank properly? when i was inthe cycle process i had foam at the top of my tank. check your parameters. it is not algea i think that your tank is still cycling. i would either get some ammio lock or get some bio spira.

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·