Piranhas Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
220 Posts
okay I been hashing over all I learnt recently about the tank size requirements
and the fish in general and I just have 1 question. okay RBP's and pygo's in general like to be in groups and since I only have a 38 it wouldnt be feasible to keep more than 2 as they mature (I want to grow whatever fish I choose from baby to adult) and thats not much of a group at all. and I remember hearing that serra's are overall a "Lone" fish not to be kept with anything but plants and gravel (thanx P-FURY!!) so that would suit my 38? once again its 36x13x18 I dont know anything about serras other than what I read on here in the species profile and it dosent explain them in a tank setting other than "watch out theyre freakin crazy!!" lol) I've had fish since I was young but I am a beginner with P's what should I consider before I make any big decisions.thinking about it all day and I just feel that maybe a lone serra would suit me and my tank better than trying to raise up a bunch (5) of RBP's

P.S dont worry I'l keep the baby RBP's in a safe place when and if anything goes down

· Registered
498 Posts
IMO you're best off with a lone Serra,like a Rhom, in the long run...
Most are quite interactive with thier keepers the older they get and some are down right aggressive compared to others of the same type.
On another note, I don't recommend keeping only (2) pygo species in a tank as they'll tend to fight more often with each other. Perhaps start with the (5) babies Pygos if you choose so and maybe by time your forced to reduce stock, you'll be ready for another, "larger" tank.

Just my 2 cents....Good luck!

· Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
thanx so much in advance. one of my pet peeves is people who ask questions instead of looking for the answers (which are on the same site they are)themselves. so I'm gonna spend some time looking over these spilo's, irritans