Piranhas Forum banner

Live feeders!

52K views 124 replies 77 participants last post by  pain187 
#1 ·
Well i've been collecting Ps since 1989 and in my humble opinion most problems with Ps begin with live feeders.
I losted some of my fish because of "uncertain" causes the first 5 years. Today i believe they died because of "unapparental" (internal) diseases/parasites (i always kept water pristine) they got from live feeders... and i've never losted a P again since i feed "dead"...
Personally i feed my Ps white meat fish fillets (different kinds) as staple and shrimp (shell on), squid and octopus as a complement for a varied diet... my Ps grow healthy and never had a problem again...
!
I know live feeders are more entertaining than dead food but you should keep in mind even quarantined feeders can contain internal (unapparental) parasites/diseases harmful/fatal to your Ps... Personally i won't use feeders with my Ps anymore. Their health come first... just my opinion...
!

See less See more
#2 ·
This is of course the correct and wise practise.

It is sad that people buy Piranhas to entertain themselves by deliberately killing other fishes. And mostly fishes that some other hobbyists take good care of. No good.

Safeguard measures is totally another issue. Using live feeders one risks the health of his Piranhas too, like Hannibal said.

Harry

#3 ·
This is of course the correct and wise practise.

It is sad that people buy Piranhas to entertain themselves by deliberately killing other fishes. And mostly fishes that some other hobbyists take good care of. No good.

Safeguard measures is totally another issue. Using live feeders one risks the health of his Piranhas too, like Hannibal said.

Harry
Sad, but very true.