• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Live feeders! A few thoughts... Rate Topic: ***** 2 Votes

Posted 13 October 2006 - 04:38 AM (#1) User is offline   Mr. Hannibal 

• OPEFE
  • View gallery
  • Group: Senior Member

Well i've been collecting Ps since 1989 and in my humble opinion most problems with Ps begin with live feeders.
I losted some of my fish because of "uncertain" causes the first 5 years. Today i believe they died because of "unapparental" (internal) diseases/parasites (i always kept water pristine) they got from live feeders... and i've never losted a P again since i feed "dead"...
Personally i feed my Ps white meat fish fillets (different kinds) as staple and shrimp (shell on), squid and octopus as a complement for a varied diet... my Ps grow healthy and never had a problem again... :ooh: !
I know live feeders are more entertaining than dead food but you should keep in mind even quarantined feeders can contain internal (unapparental) parasites/diseases harmful/fatal to your Ps... Personally i won't use feeders with my Ps anymore. Their health come first... just my opinion...:) !
Piranhas i have now:
(8) Pygocentrus cariba, (1) Serrasalmus rhombeus, (1) Serrasalmus irritans, (1) Pristobrycon striolatus

Piranhas i have had before:
Pygocentrus cariba, Serrasalmus rhombeus, Serrasalmus irritans, Serrasalmus eigenmanni, Serrasalmus elongatus, Serrasalmus manueli, Serrasalmus medinai, Serrasalmus neveriensis, Pristobrycon careospinus, Pristobrycon striolatus, Pristobrycon maculipinnis, Pygopristis denticulata, Catoprion mento

Posted ImagePosted Image
Member of the Month, May 2011

Catch and release is the only way to go...

Just when I thought I was out... they pull me back in...

Remove Advertisements User is offline   Advertisements 

• Piranha-Fury.com

• Psychotic
  • Group: Awaiting Authorisation

This is of course the correct and wise practise.